State Question 510 consolidated the office of Examiner and Inspector and the State Auditor in a special election on July 22, 1975.

(Article VI, Section 1.A) The Constitution of the State of Oklahoma provides for the office of the State Auditor and Inspector within the executive department to the government of the State of Oklahoma.

(Article VI, Section 3 & 19) To be eligible to be elected State Auditor and Inspector, a person must be a citizen of the United States, 31 years of age, have been an elector of this state for 10 years, and have at least three years experience as an expert accountant.

(Article V, Section 4) The term of office is four years, which runs concurrently with the other state elected officials. The State Auditor and Inspector may succeed himself.

(Article VI, Section 19) The State Auditor and Inspector has the duty to examine the books, accounts and cash on-hand or in the bank of the State Treasurer and county treasurers at least twice each year without notice to such treasurers and to publish this report; to prescribe a uniform system of bookkeeping for all treasurers; and perform such other duties as may be prescribed by law.

(Article X, Section 9C.(i) & 9D.L) The State Auditor and Inspector has the constitutional duty to conduct an annual audit of the operations of each Emergency Medical Services District and each county solid waste management operation. (Article VI, Section 32 & Article X, Section 21) The State Auditor and Inspector serves as a member of the Commissioners of the Land Office and as a member of the State Board of Equalization.


  1. Cindy Byrd (R) 2019 – Present
  2. Gary Jones (R) 2011 – 2019
  3. Steve Burrage (D) 2008- 2011
  4. Jeff McMahan (D) 2003-2008
  5. Clifton Scott (D) 1983-2003
  6. Tom Daxon (R) 1979-1983
  7. John M. Rogers (D) 1959-1979
  8. Scott Burson (D) 1954-1959
  9. Charles G. Morris (D) 1946-1954
  10. John Rogers (D) 1927-1946
  11. George J. Mechling (D) 1923-1927
  12. Fred Parkinson (D) 1912-1923
  13. Charles A. Taylor (D) 1907-1912